Walking With My Father Through The Garden

Today’s post was originally scheduled for Tuesday. The photos of the ferns would not load so I had to wait. Yesterday, I traveled back to my parent’s house to go with my mom for tests. I was able to get more pictures and they all finally uploaded. So…..here is the post….a little late.

Original Post:

Life has been really busy lately. My mom has had some health issues, and on Monday, I traveled to my parents house to go with her to the doctor.

Each day I try to read my Bible. I find I can’t function for the day unless I get that Bible time to give me encouragement and learn God’s tips for how I should be living my life. As I rushed around trying to get ready, my thoughts went something like this….I don’t have time to read my Bible this morning. But if I don’t read, how will I get through this day of travel, have enough wisdom to explain my mom’s symptoms so the doctor can make a diagnosis, and have the calm and patience that is required for these circumstances?

Right before I went out the door, I hurriedly ran to my Bible, flipped it open to the Psalms (the most soothing of Bible books), and my eyes fell on what I had highlighted on another busy day. I read….

“He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. Because thou hast made the Lord, which is my refuge, even the most High, thy habitation; There shall no evil befall thee, neither shall any plague come nigh thy dwelling. For He shall give His angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways. He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him. With long life will I satisfy him, and shew him my salvation. (Psalms 91:1, 9-11, 15-16)

Whew….is God good or what? This was just what I needed before I got on I-85 with all the “running late” morning commuters. As I drove, I had my radio turned to a Christian station and sang at the top of my lungs with each song. Since I can’t sing, it was good that I was traveling alone. What fun to let it all go!

Several times cars zipped in front of me when there really wasn’t room to be zipping there. I would always suck in my breath from fear, take my thoughts captive (you know what I’m talking about…what you would tell the other driver if you could), and then resume my song, because I stood on the promises of God from my morning reading, “There shall no evil befall thee”….and “He shall give His angels charge over thee”.

My mom and I spent 2 hours at the doctor’s office. Most of that time was just spent waiting. We had time to catch up on talking like  we haven’t had in a long time. Just me and my mom, talking about all the things mothers and daughters talk about. What a sweet time together, and if she hadn’t had to go to the doctor and I had not been needed for interpretation, we would never have had this experience. When God takes you out of your own schedule and puts you in His, it can only turn into something good.

We had a late lunch and then my dad wanted to show me what he was doing in the garden. He loves for anyone to come walk through the garden with him and see all he has been working on. It was another amazing part of the day. He showed me where a robin had built a nest in the loops of a garden hose hanging on the side of an out building. He insisted I look in the nest to see the one egg laid there.

Nest in the garden hose.

Nest in the garden hose.

That egg was the most brilliant shade of deep turquoise I have ever seen! It was beautiful! It was not the typical light “robin’s egg blue” that you normally see. When I questioned the color, Dad explained that there are always varying shades of color on eggs, whether from birds or chickens. What individuality!

My dad explained that although there was only one egg in the nest, over the next few days the robin would come back and lay an egg a day. Even if it took her 5 or more days to lay all the eggs, once she starts sitting, the eggs will still hatch out on the same day, even though some are older than others. He said chickens are the same way. It might take them 15 days to get all their eggs laid, but when they sit on them even if one egg is 15 days old and another is 1 day old, they all hatch out on the same day.

By the time I went back on Thursday, there were 3 eggs in the nest. Before the day was over she had laid a 4th egg.

By the time I went back on Thursday, there were 3 eggs in the nest. Before the day was over she had laid a 4th egg.

In person, the eggs were an even deeper shade of turqoise than they appear in this picture.

In person, the eggs were an even deeper shade of turquoise than they appear in this picture.

I had never thought about this before, and I was overwhelmed with the amazing, intricate, design of God’s creation. How could anyone think to orchestrate such an event? How can anyone who observes the intricacies of nature not believe in God?

We wandered on through the garden, and I watched and listened as my dad pointed out certain things that he found fascinating, looked at what he had growing, and looked at the beds he had ready to plant…. as he explained what would be going in them.

We wandered into the yard. He showed me how many blooms were on the apple tree. The blossoms were a beautiful shade of white to pale pink and hung in fluffy clusters. He insisted that I smell them. It was the most beautiful scent, something like a rose. I smelled them again and again. I don’t think I have ever stopped to smell an apple blossom in my entire life. (If you have never done so, you should.)

Apple blossoms

Apple blossoms

Talking with my mom and walking with my dad (my earthly father) through the garden was so…. beautiful, peaceful, calming.

I will travel back on Thursday to go with my mom for more tests. I had planned to maybe paint my bathroom, or work in my garden, but I will only get these chances to spend time with my parents for a few more years. I am looking forward to having the time to know their hearts and learn and see what God has shown them over the years.

On the way home, I stopped at Walmart for groceries for a girls’ lunch being planned for Tuesday. Walmart had beautiful Boston Ferns for only $9.98. They were so big it was difficult to get them squeezed into the trunk of my sweet, yellow VW Beetle. As you can see from the picture, I managed to get them home.

Boston Fern

Boston Fern

Boston Fern on the front porch.

Boston Fern on the front porch.

Every good southern porch needs some Boston Ferns.

Every good southern girl needs to stop and listen to her mother express her heartfelt feelings.

Every good southern girl needs to take a walk through the garden with her father.

Every good southern girl needs to walk through the garden of life searching for what The Father has to show her.

And….if you are not a southern girl, try it anyway…. otherwise you will miss the best things of life.

2 thoughts on “Walking With My Father Through The Garden

    • I had so much fun! As for God’s timing….He always works everything out for the best, even giving us time in the busy moments to relax and enjoy the company of a very good friend. 🙂

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

