A New Fence

Each year around tax return time, my husband and I pick a large project that will improve the home and land that God has given us the responsibility for maintaining. We have been very grateful for what God has provided for us, over the years.

In the past, every time I worked in the garden, the dogs would come behind, smell where I had been working and dig up my seeds or plants. The cat also decided that the raised beds made out of plastic lumber were suitable as litter boxes.

This created a need for a solution, so I would place pieces of wire over the beds, but then I had to raise the wire as the plants grew. Sometimes the plants grew through the wire, and when I tried to pull it off, I tore the plants out of the beds. I consistently had scrapes on my legs from running into the wire.

This year for our “big” project, we chose to fence in the garden. Gaston Fence, out of Dallas, North Carolina, has completed work for us in the past. We asked them to come and provide a fence around the garden and a section of fence to support our grapevines.

Beginning garden

Beginning garden

We had cleaned off a path for the new fence. My husband had removed the old grapevine trellis.

We had cleaned off a path for the new fence. My husband had removed the old grapevine trellis.

Fence in progress.

Fence in progress.

Isn’t it nice when someone else does the work!

At the end of the 1st day.

At the end of the 1st day.

Another view.

Another view.

It looks like the fence will be finished today. Come back tomorrow to see the completed project. As always, I am hoping this gives you ideas for improving your home and garden.

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

