The Southern Spring Show and The Use of Water for a Calming Retreat

Waterfalls

Waterfalls around the house

Nothing calms me down like the sound of running water. I worked as a Labor and Delivery nurse for many years. When I was really stressed out at work, I would go to the bathroom, turn on the water, close my eyes and breathe deeply as I listened to the sound of running water. One very hectic day, I was in the process of using this stress reliever unaware that a fellow nurse was waiting for the bathroom to open up. She testily huffed at me when I calmly exited the room, “I was beginning to think you were taking a shower in there.” The sound of running water apparently hadn’t calmed her nerves.

I loved seeing the displays of water in the gardens at the spring show. I would love to incorporate something of this nature in my garden. If I add fish to the water, I could use the water as a natural fertilizer .

Unusual waterfalls

Unusual waterfalls

 

waterfalls

More waterfalls

Birdbaths

Birdbaths
Adding flowers to the water display

Adding flowers to the water display

Natural looking waterfalls

Natural looking waterfalls

Garden ponds

Garden ponds

My hope this year is to add a garden pond. There are many ways to do this. There are liners you can place in the ground, or you can use half-barrels or big urns. Jerry Baker recommends adding plants like Aquatic Foxtail, which is an underwater grower that consumes the nutrients that algae lives on. This provides a natural way to keep algae at bay. Other plants that are recommended for water gardens are miniature water lillies or Water Hyacinths. You can find resources for these plants by researching aquatic plants on the internet.

Jerry Baker recommends adding trapdoor snails to help keep the water clean. These snails do not eat your plants and according to Jerry only have one baby at at time. No population explosions! I found that these snails are sold on e-bay. Go figure!

Gold fish can be added after the water sits for 48 hours. Adding fish not only gives you a resource for liquid fertilizer, but they are beneficial for eating bugs and mosquito larvae.

I sometimes feel it is wrong to work so hard on the outside when maybe there is a room or two needing painting on the inside. I found a Proverbs for that, and I hope to obey the Bible and plan my garden accordingly.

“Prepare your outside work, Make it fit for yourself in the field; And afterward build your house.” Proverbs 24:27 (NKJV)

