A Week of the Southern Spring Show

Who can resist beautiful flowers?

Who can resist beautiful flowers?

My daughter-in-law, Collette, my husband, Danny, and myself, went to the Southern Spring Show in Charlotte, North Carolina, on Friday. This is a yearly ritual for me. I feel that my world is turned upside down if I don’t get my “fix” of this wonderful world of beautiful gardens every year. I had planned to include a one day summary of the show, but I had so many pictures, I decided to showcase something new each day this week.

Today I will show… animals in the garden.

Animals are a big part of working in the yard for me. Sometimes you have to battle to keep them out of the garden and from ruining your crops. I welcome my dogs and cat to come hang out as I work, because they are great company, but I also don’t want to leave them in the garden after I finish working. For some reason, wherever I have worked, that is where they want to go digging and checking things out. My hope this year is to fence in the garden to keep it safe and clean.

The first animals that I noticed in the show, where the ones that reek havoc. They had placed fake gophers, on a fake golf course, which I found to be hilarious.

Gopher hole-in-one.

Gopher hole-in-one.

I think this one was possessed.
I think this one was possessed.

Jerry Baker says that pests in the garden come because you feed them. In our yard we have mole upheavals and small holes dug by skunks. I always find grubs in the garden as I turn over  the soil. That is the food they are looking for. If I get rid of the grubs, I get rid of the moles and skunks. They will have to shop somewhere else for groceries.

I had to stop for awhile beside the baby chicken exhibit. I love keeping chickens. They are smelly when it rains, their water has to be thawed in winter, but store bought eggs cannot compare. My dad has always kept chickens until this year. As he is aging, he felt he could not spend another winter going out in the freezing temperatures to provide water. Over the years I have heard him say often, “It was a pretty day, today. The chickens were singing hymns.” They do sing more on warm, spring days.

Baby chicks

Baby chicks

Nothing is sweeter than baby animals.

The Carolina Raptor Center from Huntersville, North Carolina, had some rescued birds at the show this year. This is a center for the conservation of birds of prey.

Kite

Kite

A Kite is a Hawk-like bird that lives in marshes and woods, feeding on insects, snakes, snails, and small mammals. This one looked something like a small owl. She had an injury to her wing.

Hawk

Hawk

Hawks are beautiful, but dangerous, especially around chickens. We have a huge hawk that frequently flies over our land, watching our chickens. He even tried to get into one of our cages at the barn last summer. Thankfully we have wire covering all sides and the top. He set the roosters and chickens off, and they were “screaming” for help. What a noise!

Some of the friendlier animals in the garden show weren’t real.

Dog statue

Dog statue

Now this is my kind of dog. He doesn’t dig, poop, bark, and he will “stay” anywhere he is placed. I would like to add more figurines to my garden this year. I think it is fun to see an animal or fairy peeking out from behind the flowers and leaves of the plants.

What kind of animals do you love in the garden, or hate in the garden? Please feel free to leave a comment. I love hearing from you!

2 thoughts on “A Week of the Southern Spring Show

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

