My Cat is a Sinner

Our cat, Scout, is a sinner. Last summer, when I took him in for his yearly check with the veterinarian, I was told that Scout was obese and would be in jeopardy of developing diabetes if I did not put him on a diet. This earned him the nickname of Diabeto, from my son. (Sounds kind-of like a superhero name, if you can forget the mental image that produced it.)

Scout our obese cat

Scout, our obese cat

The veterinarian showed me a measure of daily rations for my cat that consisted of 1/2 to 3/4 cup of food per day. Try teaching an overweight cat about portion control. This cat eats his food, scarfs down the dog’s food, then, since we live in the country, he has a never-ending supply of mice, rats, squirrels, rabbits, and birds, which he tends to take advantage of.

Yesterday, I went to feed the animals during the torrential rains. Jazz, our thin and energetic mutt, sniffed politely and thankfully at her food, then loyally followed me out into the rain as I fed the other animals. Scout, stayed behind, greedily eating Jazz’s food, then devouring his own, all in the time it took me to feed everyone else. While Jazz follows me for love, Scout follows me begging for food.

Jazz, our thin eater

Jazz, our thin eater

So…., I have classified my cat as a sinner. Is gluttony a sin? We all suffer from this one, most of us on a daily basis. Philippians 3:18-19 says, “For many walk, of whom I have told you often, and now tell you even weeping, that they are the enemies of the cross of Christ: whose end is destruction, whose god is their belly, and whose glory is in their shame—-who set their mind on earthly things.”

Of all the sins we commit, gluttony is the one most evident to others. Like Scout, we can’t hide this sin. It shows on our bodies, the temples we present to God (1 Corinthians 6:19-20). We give up our loyalty to our Master, and like Scout, replace our Master with a desire for too much food.

Jazz demonstrates a better way. She sniffs politely and looks up to her keeper with an expression that speaks of love and thanks, then follows her master out into the storms of life to serve others.

What life lessons have your pets taught you?

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

