God, Rain, and Gardening

IMG_0059

The creek is flowing

IMG_0058

The garden is full of puddles

I had planned to plant potatoes today, until yesterday, when I found out the weather forecasters were calling for 100% rain. “A man’s heart plans his way, But the Lord directs his steps.” (Proverbs 16:9 NKJV)

So…..my plans had to change. God is teaching me to give up my own will to His. There are just some things out of my control, and I have to rest in this. I can’t pout, stomp my feet, or whine. I just look around and find the new thing God wants me to do for the day.

Many of us complain about rainy days, but God has a purpose. “For the earth which drinks in the rain that often comes upon it, and bears herbs useful for those by whom it is cultivated, receives blessing from God.” (Hebrews 6:7 NKJV)

Rain is a blessing!

New plans for the day. A clean house! The bathrooms are clean, the dusting is finished. I just have to vacuum and mop. After that….maybe a visit with Finn is God’s plan for this day.

Finn with Caterpillar

Our sweet grandson

How are you enjoying this rainy day?

Plant a Seed. Leave a Comment.

